FUJIMAC R2-80 · MADE IN JAPAN

A little less
to worry about.

An air pump supports the aerobic treatment process by supplying air to the wastewater. Here’s why we like the Japanese-made R2-80, and what to check before choosing it for your plant.

Haigh’s product preference · not an installation assessment

FujiMAC R2-80 air pump, showing its white housing, top filter cover and front outletTHE R2-80 Made in Japan
80 L/minRated airflow at 150 mbar
47 WAt 150 mbar · 50 Hz
JapanCountry of manufacture
Manufacturer specifications
Read the conditions ↗

WHY WE LIKE IT

The small things.
Properly considered.

Our preference reflects the details we value in a pump, with the supporting specifications and their limitations available to inspect.

01

A considered footprint.

The dimensions give you a useful starting point for checking space, including the outlet projection that can be easy to overlook.

207 × 161 × 189 mm overall envelope
Show me the proof
Manufacturer specification

Original source reviewed

50 Hz · 230–240 V supply context

Original source inspected. Scope limited to stated conditions.

Source & full detail ↗
02

A power figure with context.

A published rating is useful when you can see exactly what it describes. The independent test gets its own place below.

47 W at 150 mbar · 50 Hz
Show me the proof
Manufacturer specification

Original source reviewed

150 mbar · 50 Hz · 230–240 V supply context

47/51 maps to 50/60 Hz in the Japan table; not 230/240 V. UK datasheet corroborates 47 W / 50 Hz.

Source & full detail ↗
03

Care you can plan.

A useful maintenance plan covers routine filter care as well as the work that requires a trained service person.

A maintenance plan.Not a maintenance-free promise.
Read the maintenance guidance
Manufacturer specification

Original source reviewed

Test conditions not stated

Source-supported maintenance guidance. Follow the full manual and use trained personnel where required.

Source & full detail ↗

A LITTLE ROUTINE CARE

Care you can plan.

Keeping the filter clean is part of looking after the pump. The manual also explains when trained service personnel are needed.

Filter care

Inspect and clean the air filter every 3 or 4 months, and replace every year. Dusty conditions may require more frequent attention.

Filter care: source and guidance
Manufacturer specification

Original source reviewed

Test conditions not stated

Source-supported maintenance guidance. Follow the full manual and use trained personnel where required.

Source & full detail ↗

Beyond the filter

The UK manual calls for annual diaphragm/valve replacement. Diaphragm changes are for trained maintenance personnel; electrical work is for qualified electricians.

Diaphragm servicing: source and guidance
Manufacturer specification

Original source reviewed

Test conditions not stated

Source-supported maintenance guidance. Follow the full manual and use trained personnel where required.

Source & full detail ↗
Read the full maintenance guidance ↗

QUIET IS SOMETHING YOU EXPERIENCE

Less about a number.
More about a garden.

What you hear in a garden depends on the installation and its surroundings. We want to show a real unit under stated operating conditions so you can judge more than a noise adjective.

36 dB
Manufacturer specification

Published noise value. Weighting, measurement distance and method are not stated.

Show me the proof
Manufacturer specification

Original source reviewed

50 Hz · 230–240 V supply context

Source says dB, not dB(A). Distance, acoustic weighting, measurement method and background are unspecified.

Source & full detail ↗

What the noise figure tells you

A published sound level is one piece of evidence. Without a stated measurement method and matched operating conditions, it cannot predict the sound at your property or establish which pump will be quieter there.

Read the noise evidence

PERFORMANCE UNDER PRESSURE

Airflow has
a context.

The useful comparison is airflow at the plant’s operating pressure: the duty point. A headline flow figure alone cannot establish suitability.

The pump must overcome the water depth above the diffuser plus resistance in the diffuser, airline and fittings, while maintaining the required airflow. In R2-80’s recorded manufacturer curve, airflow falls as pressure rises. A free-air figure describes flow without the installation’s backpressure; it is not the flow you can assume in service.

R2-80 recorded airflow at pressureFive separate recorded points. Only 150 mbar and 80 L/min is a published rated point. Other markers are approximate graph reads. No line is fitted between points. 020406080100120140 050100150200250 Airflow · L/minPressure · mbar 50 mbar / 126 L/min · graph digitised100 mbar / 100 L/min · graph digitised150 mbar / 80 L/min · published rating200 mbar / 50 L/min · graph digitised250 mbar / 22 L/min · graph digitised
Recorded airflow, 50 Hz
PressureAirflowEvidence
50 mbar126 L/minApproximate graph reading
100 mbar100 L/minApproximate graph reading
150 mbar80 L/minPublished rating
200 mbar50 L/minApproximate graph reading
250 mbar22 L/minApproximate graph reading

Only recorded points are shown; values between them are not estimated. No safe operating range is inferred.

100L/min

Approximate graph reading

50 Hz manufacturer curve. These points do not establish the duty your plant requires or approve a replacement; check the plant maker’s requirements and the pump’s operating limits.

Inspect the source ↗

TWO NUMBERS. TWO CONDITIONS.

Keep the power story
honest.

These figures answer different questions. They are not averaged, ranked or turned into a promise about your electricity bill.

Manufacturer specification

The published rating

47W

150 mbar · 50 Hz · 230–240 V supply context

Show me the proof
Manufacturer specification

Original source reviewed

150 mbar · 50 Hz · 230–240 V supply context

47/51 maps to 50/60 Hz in the Japan table; not 230/240 V. UK datasheet corroborates 47 W / 50 Hz.

Source & full detail ↗
Independent laboratory test

The tested sample

59.5W

100 mbar · frequency not stated · 240 V · hot steady state

Show me the proof
Independent laboratory test

Original source reviewed

100 mbar · frequency not stated · 240 V · hot steady state

Only the sample and test conditions in report 56932a. Frequency not stated; UKAS/ILAC marks are recorded, not a broader accreditation conclusion.

Source & full detail ↗

The report displays UKAS Testing 0225 and ILAC MRA marks. That observation is not a broader accreditation-scope claim.

THE 80-CLASS PICTURE

A preference.
Not a rigged comparison.

We prefer FujiMAC. Other pumps deserve a fair account of their specifications, conditions and limitations.

These ratings describe different operating conditions, so this table is not an efficiency ranking or a replacement guide. Even the same stated airflow can be rated at a different pressure. Competitor figures remain workbook evidence pending primary-source review.

Published figures at their stated conditions
Air pumpRated airflowPublished powerPublished noise
FujiMACR2-80Our preference80 L/min150 mbar · 50 Hz · 230–240 V supply contextManufacturer specification47 W150 mbar · 50 Hz · 230–240 V supply contextManufacturer specification36 dB50 Hz · 230–240 V supply contextManufacturer specification
SECOHJDK-S-8075 L/min200 mbarManufacturer specification50 W200 mbar · frequency not statedManufacturer specification38 dB(A)50 Hz · 230 VManufacturer specification
HIBLOWHP-8080 L/min147 mbar · 50 Hz · 220–240 V supply contextManufacturer specification71 Wpressure not stated · 50 Hz · 220–240 V supply contextManufacturer specification36 dB(A)50 Hz · 220–240 V supply contextManufacturer specification
Nitto Kohki / MEDOLA-80B80 L/min150 mbar · 50 HzManufacturer specification86 Wpressure not stated · 50 HzManufacturer specificationNot capturedNo numeric manufacturer noise value in the current evidence map.
Charles AustenET80Current evidence as captured80 L/min120 mbarManufacturer specification85 Wpressure not stated · frequency not statedManufacturer specification40 dB(A)Test conditions not statedManufacturer specification
Charles AustenET80Historical evidence80 L/min100 mbarManufacturer specification75 Wpressure not stated · frequency not statedManufacturer specification40 dB(A)Test conditions not statedManufacturer specification
FujiMAC FujiMAC80 R2Claims & observations +
Third-party observation

46.6 W · FujiMAC R2-80

Domestic power meter; 80-class units; 2022

Not controlled to a common stated back-pressure in article; use as comparative field observation, not accredited test. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.
Conditions & source
Third-party observation

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

pressure not stated · frequency not stated

Not controlled to a common stated back-pressure in article; use as comparative field observation, not accredited test. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.

Source & full detail ↗
Third-party observation

38.6 dB(A) · FujiMAC R2-80

Decibel X v9.2.2 on OnePlus 10 Pro; outdoor uncontrolled; minimum over multiple runs

Useful comparative observation, not an accredited acoustic measurement. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.
Conditions & source
Third-party observation

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Useful comparative observation, not an accredited acoustic measurement. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.

Source & full detail ↗
SECOH JDK-S-80Claims & observations +
Manufacturer claim

JDK range can use up to 30% less energy than preceding SLL/EL series depending on application

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Relative-to-predecessor claim; not a direct FujiMAC comparison. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

JDK range about 30% smaller overall than preceding SLL/EL series

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Relative-to-predecessor claim. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

Long life expectancy from compact/simple motor-pump construction

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Qualitative claim. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

High efficiency from electromagnetic oscillation with practically no mechanical friction

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Mechanism description supports qualitative efficiency claim. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

Low noise via soundproof casing and integrated muffler

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Qualitative claim; numeric BIBUS product data gives 38 dB(A). Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

Low vibration via vibration-isolating rubber between motor and pump parts

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Qualitative claim. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

Completely oil-free and practically pulsation-free airflow

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Published SECOH/BIBUS positioning. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

Rainproof/weatherproof housing, but should not be exposed to direct sun, rain or snow

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Do not translate to an IP rating without a direct rated source. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Third-party observation

57.6 W · SECOH JDK80

Domestic power meter; 80-class units; 2022

Not controlled to a common stated back-pressure in article; use as comparative field observation, not accredited test. Source calls sample JDK80, not verified JDK-S-80; contextual record only. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.
Conditions & source
Third-party observation

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

pressure not stated · frequency not stated

Not controlled to a common stated back-pressure in article; use as comparative field observation, not accredited test. Source calls sample JDK80, not verified JDK-S-80; contextual record only. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.

Source & full detail ↗
Third-party observation

43.3 dB(A) · SECOH JDK80

Decibel X v9.2.2 on OnePlus 10 Pro; outdoor uncontrolled; minimum over multiple runs

Useful comparative observation, not an accredited acoustic measurement. Source calls sample JDK80, not verified JDK-S-80; contextual record only. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.
Conditions & source
Third-party observation

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Useful comparative observation, not an accredited acoustic measurement. Source calls sample JDK80, not verified JDK-S-80; contextual record only. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.

Source & full detail ↗
HIBLOW HP-80Claims & observations +
Manufacturer claim

Low noise; low power; dual insulation; dust trap filter

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

UK HIBLOW distributor product positioning. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

Typical customers see more than 8-10 years service life when precautions and servicing are followed

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Distributor experience claim; not a guaranteed life. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

Customers typically see more than 8-10 years with precautions and service instructions followed.

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Experience claim, not warranty or controlled lifetime test. Source uninspected; not a verified current commercial offer.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

UK distributor advertises 2-year warranty on HP-80.

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Check exact terms before customer-facing comparison. Source uninspected; not a verified current commercial offer.

Source & full detail ↗
Third-party observation

86.6 W · HIBLOW HP-80

Domestic power meter; 80-class units; 2022

Not controlled to a common stated back-pressure in article; use as comparative field observation, not accredited test. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.
Conditions & source
Third-party observation

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

pressure not stated · frequency not stated

Not controlled to a common stated back-pressure in article; use as comparative field observation, not accredited test. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.

Source & full detail ↗
Third-party observation

43.8 dB(A) · HIBLOW HP-80

Decibel X v9.2.2 on OnePlus 10 Pro; outdoor uncontrolled; minimum over multiple runs

Useful comparative observation, not an accredited acoustic measurement. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.
Conditions & source
Third-party observation

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Useful comparative observation, not an accredited acoustic measurement. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.

Source & full detail ↗
Nitto Kohki / MEDO LA-80BClaims & observations +
Manufacturer claim

Low sound level; easy maintenance; unrivalled performance and life time

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Record as manufacturer wording, not independently established fact. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Third-party observation

98.3 W · MEDO LA-80B

Domestic power meter; 80-class units; 2022

Not controlled to a common stated back-pressure in article; use as comparative field observation, not accredited test. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.
Conditions & source
Third-party observation

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

pressure not stated · frequency not stated

Not controlled to a common stated back-pressure in article; use as comparative field observation, not accredited test. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.

Source & full detail ↗
Third-party observation

42.5 dB(A) · MEDO LA-80B

Decibel X v9.2.2 on OnePlus 10 Pro; outdoor uncontrolled; minimum over multiple runs

Useful comparative observation, not an accredited acoustic measurement. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.
Conditions & source
Third-party observation

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Useful comparative observation, not an accredited acoustic measurement. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.

Source & full detail ↗
Charles Austen ET80 · Current evidence as capturedClaims & observations +
Manufacturer claim

Robust and compact construction; weatherproof / indoor and outdoor use

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Manufacturer wording. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Manufacturer claim

Green drive technology offers energy efficient motors / low power consumption

Manufacturer wording as captured in the workbook; not verified performance.
Conditions & source
Manufacturer claim

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Qualitative claim; benchmark separately. Research compilation transcription; source and edition not independently reviewed.

Source & full detail ↗
Charles Austen ET80 · Historical evidenceClaims & observations +
Third-party observation

56.3 W · Charles Austen ET80

Domestic power meter; 80-class units; 2022

Not controlled to a common stated back-pressure in article; use as comparative field observation, not accredited test. Sample ET80 revision unspecified; housed with historical research context, not asserted to match a manufacturing revision. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.
Conditions & source
Third-party observation

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

pressure not stated · frequency not stated

Not controlled to a common stated back-pressure in article; use as comparative field observation, not accredited test. Sample ET80 revision unspecified; housed with historical research context, not asserted to match a manufacturing revision. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.

Source & full detail ↗
Third-party observation

47.7 dB(A) · Charles Austen ET80

Decibel X v9.2.2 on OnePlus 10 Pro; outdoor uncontrolled; minimum over multiple runs

Useful comparative observation, not an accredited acoustic measurement. Sample ET80 revision unspecified; housed with historical research context, not asserted to match a manufacturing revision. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.
Conditions & source
Third-party observation

Research compilation evidence · primary review pending

Test conditions not stated

Useful comparative observation, not an accredited acoustic measurement. Sample ET80 revision unspecified; housed with historical research context, not asserted to match a manufacturing revision. Separate Airblow/MPC channel; not a Haigh or accredited-laboratory test.

Source & full detail ↗

FOR THE CURIOUS

Good questions.
Proper evidence.

Manufacturer data, independent tests, comparative observations and our interpretation each have their own place.

Open the evidence notebook

A useful next step

We can help you gather the pump and plant details needed for a considered choice. The shop holds current commercial information; suitability depends on your installation.

View R2-80 in the shop ↗Ask FujiMAC support ↗

BACK TO YOUR INSTALLATION

Start with the pump
you have.

Use the model plate to identify the existing pump, then check the required airflow at operating pressure and the plant maker’s replacement requirements.

Will it replace mine?